Collected Stories: Including The Member of the Wedding and The Ballad of the Sad Café

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin, 1987 - Fiction - 392 pages
3 Reviews
This collection of nineteen stories includes "Madame Zilensky and the King of Finland," "The Haunted Boy," "The Member of the Wedding," "The Ballad of the Sad Cafe," several early stories, and other important works

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MSarki - LibraryThing

Though I enjoy much of McCuller's writing, I prefer her novels more and consider them far-surpassing her shorter works. I felt I was running out of time and therefore had to abandon what still remains in this book for me unread. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - fiadhiglas - LibraryThing

I married a man from the South almost 20 years ago, but his family and culture remain utterly opaque to me. I thought perhaps literature by a Southern woman writer could help me grasp why they are the ... Read full review


Sucker i
Court in the West Eighties ii

15 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1987)

Carson McCullers was born in Columbus, Georgia, on February 19, 1917. She died at age fifty in Nyack, New York, on September 29, 1967. A promising pianist, she had hoped to enroll at the Juilliard School of Music when she was seventeen, but when she arrived in New York, she attended writing classes at Columbia University instead. In December 1936 her first story, "Wunderkind," was published in "Story" magazine. That winter she began work on "The Mute," which would become her enduring masterpiece, "The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter.

Bibliographic information