Midnight for Charlie Bone

Front Cover
Egmont Books, Limited, Jun 20, 2016 - Aunts - 304 pages
Classic magic and mystery from one of Britain's best-loved authors of fantasy adventure. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and Shane Hegarty's Darkmouth. An Academy for magic and special talents. A destiny unfulfilled. A secret legacy. When Charlie Bone discovers that he can hear the voices of people in photographs, his guardian Grandma Bone sends him to Bloor's Academy, a school for children with special gifts. 'Dark, funny, crackling with magic' - author Artemis Cooper on Midnight for Charlie Bone 'A fast moving, dialogue driven romp with plenty of cliff-hangers for those first hooked into reading by Harry Potter' - Bookseller on Midnight for Charlie Bone

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
11
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
3

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Robinsonstef - LibraryThing

Ever since his father died in a car accident, Charlie Bone has lived with his mom, uncle, and two grandmothers (one who is horrible and another who is much more grandmotherly). His family is ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Shahnareads - LibraryThing

I bought it cause it looked like a Harry Potter knock off. It's pretty funny. I liked it. I read it a long time ago, so I don't remember everything. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Jenny Nimmo was born in Berkshire, but has lived in a converted watermill in Wales for the past thirty four years. Her husband is a painter and printmaker and they have three children and three grandchildren. She has worked in the theatre, in television and as a governess in Italy.

For as long as she can remember, Jenny has loved books. She was six when she went to boarding school and reading was a wonderful escape, it allowed her to believe that she was somewhere else. She begn to write her own stories when she was ten. She cannot help using magic in her work because myths legends and fairy-tales were her favourite reading as a child, and they have remained at the back of her mind ever since.

In 1986 her book 'The Snow Spider' won the Smarties Grand Prix and, in 1987, was awarded the Tir na n'Og by the Welsh Arts Council. 'The Rinaldi Ring' was chosen as Guardian Book of the Week, and was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal, for which she received a commendation.Five of Jenny's eight books about Charlie Bone in 'The Children of the Red King' series were on the New York Times bestseller list, and she has now completed 'The Secret Kingdom Trilogy' a prequel to the Charlie Bone Books.

Bibliographic information