Tarnished Gold

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Nov 24, 2009 - Fiction - 352 pages
3 Reviews
Her high school graduation just days away, Gabriel Landry is blissfully happy - until rich cannery owner Octavious Tate waylays her near a secluded pond and shatters her innocence, forever.
Pregnant and desolate, Gabriel agrees to a shocking plan that will allow Octavious' frigid wife, Gladys, to claim the baby as her own. But nothing can prepare Gabriel for the terrible moment when Gladys takes her baby away.
Drifting in a world of gloom, Gabriel is only comforted by chance glimpses of her son, until a hunting party brings handsome Creole millionaire Pierre Dumas to the bayou. Falling desperately in love, Gabriel will not heed the voice warning her that their joy may bring her more grief than she can bear.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KyleeKat - LibraryThing

Gabriel is my favorite character throughout this whole series. The end when she dies, That was the part that really got to me. It was the most brilliant written part of the whole series. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PenguinBurger - LibraryThing

This is one of my favorite Andrews books, by far. I love Gabrielle, and I loved reading her story, though at one point it mirrors Flowers in the Attic. I loved reading about her affair with Pierre, and I can never quite finish the book without having my heart broken. Read full review

Selected pages


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12
Section 13
Section 14
Section 15
Section 16
Section 17

Section 9

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

One of the most popular authors of all time, V.C. Andrews has been a bestselling phenomenon since the publication of Flowers in the Attic, first in the renowned Dollanganger family series which includes Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows. The family saga continues with Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth, Christopher’s Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger, and Secret Brother. V.C. Andrews has written more than seventy novels, which have sold more than 106 million copies worldwide and been translated into twenty-five foreign languages. Join the conversation about the world of V.C. Andrews at Facebook.com/OfficialVCAndrews.

Bibliographic information