Sometimes They Bite

Front Cover
Arbor House, 1983 - Fiction - 285 pages
0 Reviews
A New York Times Bestselling AuthorAn unwelcome visitor shares terrifying secrets with a stranger at an isolated fishing hole. Two men concoct a convoluted Hitchcockian murder plot . . . only to discover death is far more gruesome and permanent than it appears on-screen. An aspiring assassin has a close encounter with his idol. Lawrence Block is at his sinister best in eighteen tales of drifters, grifters, and sweet revenge that are darkly comic, chillingly clever, and sharp as a razor edge.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.



6 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1983)

Lawrence Block is the author of the popular series' featuring Bernie Rhodenbarr, Matthew Scudder, and Chip Harrison. Over 2 million copies of Lawrence Block's books are in print. He has published articles and short fiction in American Heritage, Redbook, Playboy, GQ, and The New York Times, and has published several collections of short fiction in book form, most recently Collected Mystery Stories. Block is a Grand Master of Mystery Writers of America. He has won the Edgar and Shamus awards four times, the Japanese Maltese Falcon award twice, as well as the Nero Wolfe award. In France, he was proclaimed a Grand Maitre du Roman Noir and has been awarded the Societe 813 trophy twice. Block was presented with the key to the city of Muncie, Indiana, and is a past president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America.

Bibliographic information