The Shining World

Front Cover
Second Story Press, Jan 1, 2003 - Fairies - 235 pages
1 Review
Ages 9 to 13 years. This is the second book in a projected trilogy, and the sequel to "The Nordlings", Kathleen McDonnell's fantasy-adventure novel published in 1999. When the story opens, sixteen-year-old Peggy has gone up north to plant trees for the summer, hoping to make enough money to finally get out of her mother's house and gain her independence. On a visit to a petroglyph (rock-carving) site, she finds herself abruptly transported to Notherland, an imaginary world she created when she was seven years old and that she had visited the previous year. There, she learns that Mi, a spirit-child who lives in the RoryBory or northern lights, has gone off by herself in search of a mythical "shining world". Fearing for her safety, Peggy and her Notherland companions -- Gavi the philosopher-loon, Molly the pirate-doll, and a mysterious young man named Jackpine -- set out in search of Mi. In the process, they must pass through a series of dream worlds, where they encounter, among others, the Pirate Queen Grania and the nineteenth-century Arctic explorer Sir John Franklin. After finding themselves in a late eighteenth-century cotton mill peopled with child labourers, the group makes its way to the workshop of the great poet and artist William Blake. During their sojourn with Blake, Peggy learns from him that she is a Mental Traveller, someone with the ability to imagine a "World in a Grain of Sand". Only by valuing her gift will she be able to find Mi -- and catch a glimpse of the Shining World herself.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Shining World (The Notherland Journeys #2)

User Review  - Jennifer Wardrip - Goodreads

Reviewed by Candace Cunard for The second book of THE NOTHERLAND JOURNEYS series takes up about a year after the first book's conclusion. Peggy has escaped her family problems for a ... Read full review


1 The Petroglyphs
2 The Return of the Creator
3 The Flute Player
4 Ghosts on the Ice
5 The Pirate Queen
6 The Whale Requiem
7 The ClimbingBoy
8 Mr Blakes Workshop
9 The Mental Traveller
10 The FarNear
11 The Angel Tree
12 The Two Queens

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Kathleen McDonnell has been writing theater and fiction for young people for more than two decades. Her most recent play, The Seven Ravens, was nominated for two Dora Awards in 2003, and she was the recipient of a 1994 Chalmers Canadian Play Award for Loon Boy. She is also the author of The Nordlings, the first installment of The Notherland Journeys, as well as two acclaimed books about children and the media: Kid Culture and Honey, We Lost the Kids.

Bibliographic information