Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass

Front Cover
Cricket House Books LLC, 2010 - Fiction - 134 pages
198 Reviews
This book-entertaining for both adults and children-follows the fantastical adventures of a little girl named Alice who falls down a rabbit hole into a nonsensical world full of peculiar creatures. She returns to that world six months later through a mirror.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

I love the writing of Lewis Carroll. - LibraryThing
It's full of fun poems and lovely illustrations. - LibraryThing
Really very clever writing. - LibraryThing
I love the illustrations by Sir John Tenniel. - LibraryThing
It would also be good as a writing prompt. - LibraryThing
The illustrations in this book are very unique. - LibraryThing

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jms001 - LibraryThing

Remember the white rabbit that Neo had to follow in order to get out of the Matrix? Or the Looking Glass station that Desmond and Charlie had to go to in order to help the rest of the 815 survivors ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pduste1 - LibraryThing

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is a classic chapter book that can still be enjoyed as an adult. I like this book for its illustrations and text structure. The illustrations in this book are very ... Read full review

All 27 reviews »

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Born in Daresbury, England,in 1832, Charles Luthwidge Dodgson is better known by his pen mane of Lewis Carroll. He became a minister of the Church of England and a lecturer in mathematics at Christ Church College, Oxford. He was the author, under his own name, of An Elementary Treatise on Determinants (1867), Symbolic Logic (1896), and other scholarly treatises which would hardly have given him a place in English literature. Charles Dodgson might have been completely forgotten but for the work of his alter ego, Lewis Carroll. Lewis Carroll, shy in the company of adults, loved children and knew and understood the world of the imagination in which the most sensitive of them lived. So he put the little girl Alice Liddell into a dream-story and found himself famous as the author of Alice in Wonderland (1865). Through the Looking Glass followed in 1871. In recent years Carroll has been taken quite seriously as a major literary artist for adults as well. His works have come under the scrutiny of critics who have explained his permanent attractiveness in terms of existential and symbolic drama: The Alice books dramatize psychological realities in symbolic terms, being commentary on the nature of the human predicament rather than escape from it. In addition to his writing, Carroll was also a pioneering photographer, and he took many pictures of young children, especially girls, with whom he seemed to empathize.

Bibliographic information