The Burning of Rachel Hayes

Front Cover
Five Star, 2004 - Fiction - 357 pages
0 Reviews
Edgar Award-winning authorDoug Allyn's latest novel features one of his most endearing characters - small-town veterinarian David Westbrook. Short stories featuring Dr. Westbrook have won the Ellery Queen Readers Award three times. Five Star is pleased to present the first full-length novel about the vet who keeps getting in over his head, no matter how hard he tries to stay out of trouble. After a stint in jail which cost him his wife and career, Dr. David Westbrook takes his battered Jeep, one-eyed cat, and his troubled past to northern Michigan to start over. His plans aren't grand. He only wants to open a small country clinic where he can heal injured animals, and maybe himself, at the same time. But he's chosen the wrong county. In 1871, a Michigan woman named Rachel Hayes vanished in one of the Great Fires that ravaged the Midwest. When her remains are recovered from a long lost well, it's considered an amazing archaeological find. At first. Until the fires begin again. And the strange accidents start happening. As David struggles to build his practice, and his life, he becomes entangled in an investigation into the circumstances surrounding Rachel Hayes' death. At the same time, he also finds himself falling into a very modern love affair and all of the problems that brings with it. But the violence and accidents don't stop, and as the people around him are placed in more jeopardy, David realizes he must find out who - or what - is behind all of this. He can either believe in ghosts or something far worse - an evil so vast that even a million-acre forest fire can't burn it away.Doug Allyn lives in Montrose, Michigan.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A small-town vet investigates a century-old crime while coping with his messy personal life.Northern Michigan, 1871: Farm wife Rachel is caught in a late-night fire with Ginger, her terrified collie ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Doug Allyn, 1942 - Doug Allyn was born in 1942 in Bay City, Michigan. He attended Alpena Community College from 1961 to 1962, as well as the University of Michigan from 1972 to 1974. He joined a rock band in 1975 called the Devil's Triangle where he was a musician, singer and songwriter. Allyn's work has appeared in "Once Upon a Crime," "Cat Crimes Through Time" and volumes three and four of "The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories." His tales of "Tallifer," the wandering minstrel, have appeared in "Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine" and "Murder Most Scottish." A "Tallifer" story entitled "The Dancing Bear," won the Edgar award for short fiction in 1995. Allyn has also written the "All Creatures Dark and Small" series which features a crime fighting veterinarian.

Bibliographic information