The War of the Worlds

Front Cover
Scholastic Incorporated, 2004 - Juvenile Fiction - 285 pages
A thrilling science-fiction classic, with an introduction by Orson Scott Card.

Thirty-five million miles into space, a species of Martians sets eyes on planet Earth. With their own planet doomed for destruction, the Martians prepare to invade. Their weapons are ready and their aim is ruthless.
The war of the worlds is about to begin.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A war like nothing Earth has ever experienced. When it ends, if it ends, Earth will never be the same.
It all starts when the first cylinder touching down on Earth with the first two Martians
inside it. The narrator of the book, a writer, becomes involved in the destruction of Earth. The book follows his experience trying to escape the Martians genocide. In the book, it also describes the narrators brother as he's on the run from the Martians killing spree.The narrator and his brother picks up companions, such as a curate, an artilleryman, and some others, who can make the reader become attached to them, as he is avoiding the Martians.Even though the narrator fears the Martians, he still curious by the Martians unique way of doing things and the way they look.
It all takes place in the area of London,England, during the 1890's.
The authors purpose for writing the book is show the experience of how a man would act if Martians were to invade Earth. My favorite chapter is the ending though I am not to spoil it because I believe you should read it. If your a fan of science fiction then you'll like this book. Another thing i liked about the book is the descriptive writing. The author is able to describe the settings and characters with such great details it feels as if your in the book.
Other books you could read by H.G Wells if you like this book are "The Invisible Man" and "The Time Machine" because these books are also science fiction
The book will keep you guessing until the end.It is a really great book.

About the author (2004)

H. G. Wells was born in Bromley, England on September 21, 1866. After a limited education, he was apprenticed to a draper, but soon found he wanted something more out of life. He read widely and got a position as a student assistant in a secondary school, eventually winning a scholarship to the Royal College of Science in South Kensington, where he studied biology. He graduated from London University in 1888 and became a science teacher. He also wrote for magazines. When his stories began to sell, he left teaching to write full time. He became an author best known for science fiction novels and comic novels. His science fiction novels include The Time Machine, The War of the Worlds, The Wonderful Visit, The Island of Doctor Moreau, The Invisible Man, The First Men in the Moon, and The Food of the Gods. His comic novels include Love and Mr. Lewisham, Kipps: The Story of a Simple Soul, The History of Mr. Polly, and Tono-Bungay. He also wrote several short story collections including The Stolen Bacillus, The Plattner Story, and Tales of Space and Time. He died on August 13, 1946 at the age of 79.

Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974). A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990). His novel Ender's Game and its sequel Speaker for the Dead, both won Hugo and Nebula awards, making Card the only author to win both prizes in consecutive years. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins and Ender's Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of The First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware, Earth Afire, and Earth Awakens.

Bibliographic information