Starling of the White House: A Secret Service Man Who Guarded Presidents Wilson Through Roosevelt

Front Cover
Lightning Source Incorporated, Jan 1, 2005 - Biography & Autobiography - 352 pages
0 Reviews
1946. The story of the man whose Secret Service detail guarded five presidents from Woodrow Wilson to Franklin D. Roosevelt. Contents: Kentucky Babe; Gentleman Bandit; The White House-1914; Wilson-The Courtship; Wilson-Re-Election; The War; The Armistice; Paris; Versailles; Wilson-The Tragedy; The Harding Honeymoon; Disillusion; A President Dies; The Little Fellow; The Oil Scandal; Coolidge Days; He Does Not Choose to Run; A President Plays; A President Leaves the White House; Hoover-The Depression; The Bonus Army; Roosevelt-The New Deal; and Another War-The Circle Closes.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2005)

John Hersey won the Pulitzer Prize in 1945 for his first novel, A Bell for Adano. He is the author of Hiroshima and many novels, including The Wall, The Child Buyer, Under the Eye of the Storm, and Blues. He died in 1993. Thomas Sugrue is an assistant professor of history at the University of Pennsylvania and author of The Origins of the Urban Crisis.

Bibliographic information