The Meaning of Night: A Confession

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, Oct 17, 2007 - Fiction - 720 pages
66 Reviews

The atmosphere of Bleak House, the sensuous thrill of Perfume, and the mystery of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell all combine in a story of murder, deceit, love, and revenge in Victorian England.

"After killing the red-haired man, I took myself off to Quinn's for an oyster supper." So begins the "enthralling" (Booklist, starred review) and "ingenious" (Boston Globe) story of Edward Glyver, booklover, scholar, and murderer. As a young boy, Glyver always believed he was destined for greatness. A chance discovery convinces him that he was right: greatness does await him, along with immense wealth and influence. Overwhelmed by his discovery, he will stop at nothing to win back a prize that he knows is rightfully his.

Glyver's path to reclaim his prize leads him from the depths of Victorian London, with its foggy streets, brothels, and opium dens, to Evenwood, one of England's most beautiful and enchanting country houses, and finally to a consuming love for the beautiful but enigmatic Emily Carteret. His is a story of betrayal and treachery, of death and delusion, of ruthless obsession and ambition. And at every turn, driving Glyver irresistibly onward, is his deadly rival: the poet-criminal Phoebus Rainsford Daunt.

The Meaning of Night is an enthralling novel that will captivate readers right up to its final thrilling revelation.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
16
4 stars
20
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 star
3

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AliceaP - LibraryThing

The Meaning of Night: A Confession was every bit the Victorian mystery that it proclaimed itself to be on the book cover. Chock full of suspense, romance, intrigue, and heartbreak! The only complaint ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lkernagh - LibraryThing

I think readers who love Wilkie Collins’ The Woman in White or Michel Faber’s Crimson Petal and the White will also love this one. Cox skillfully provides readers with a revenge mystery not only set ... Read full review

Contents

Editors Preface
11
Part the Second
103
18491853
223
Part the Third
283
Part the Fourth
405
Part the Fifth
503
Post Scriptum
685
Acknowledgements
699
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Michael Cox (1948-2009) was the biographer of the ghost-story writer and scholar M. R. James. His first novel, The Meaning of Night, was shortlisted for the 2007 Costa First Novel Award.

Bibliographic information