The Diamond Age

Front Cover
Roc, 1996 - 499 pages
96 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
Science fiction-roman.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - themulhern - LibraryThing

I read this book in the previous century and again this month. _This_ is the book where all Stephenson's preoccupations, the ones that he's been working out in all his subsequent novels, come together ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cypher2048 - LibraryThing

I really enjoyed this book, but the end seemed a bit rushed. It built up a bunch of interesting threads and they all came to a head right at the end, but a lot of the circumstances and motivations ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

Neal Stephenson, the science fiction author, was born on October 31, 1959 in Maryland. He graduated from Boston University in 1981 with a B.A. in Geography with a minor in physics. His first novel, The Big U, was published in 1984. It received little attention and stayed out of print until Stephenson allowed it to be reprinted in 2001. His second novel was Zodiac: The Eco-Thriller was published in 1988, but it was his novel Snow Crash (1992) that brought him popularity. It fused memetics, computer viruses, and other high-tech themes with Sumerian mythology. Neal Stephenson has won several awards: Hugo for Best Novel for The Diamond Age (1996), the Arthur C. Clarke for Best Novel for Quicksilver (2004), and the Prometheus Award for Best Novel for The System of the World (2005). He recently completed the The Baroque Cycle Trilogy, a series of historical novels. It consists of eight books and was originally published in three volumes and Reamde. His latest novel is entitled The Rise and Fall of D. O. D. O. Stephenson also writes under the pseudonym Stephen Bury.

Bibliographic information