Angela Carter's Book of Fairy Tales

Front Cover
Little, Brown Book Group Limited, 2009 - Tales - 512 pages
20 Reviews
Once upon a time fairy talesweren't meant just for children, and neither is AngelaCarter's Book of Fairy Tales. This stunning collectioncontains lyrical tales, bloody tales and hilariouslyfunny and ripely bawdy stories from countries all aroundthe world- from the Arctic to Asia - and no dippyprincesses or soppy fairies. Instead, we have prettymaids and old crones; crafty women and bad girls;enchantresses and midwives; rascal aunts and odd sisters.This fabulous celebration of strong minds, low cunning,black arts and dirty tricks could only have beencollected by the unique and much-missed Angela Carter.Illustrated throughout with original woodcuts.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Angela Carter's Book of Fairy Tales

User Review  - Rachel - Goodreads

Wow, it's amazing how tiresome and repetitious fairy tales become when they're shifted slightly in geography and not at all in plot. And how little they feature fairies. Other things I learned ... Read full review

Review: Angela Carter's Book of Fairy Tales

User Review  - Angie Rhodes - Goodreads

Dark, dark, tales, these are not your Disney Faerie tales, these The Brothers Grimm would be proud of. Some tales are short, no more than a half or a full page, others are novella's . Each one is well ... Read full review

About the author (2009)

A powerful and disturbing writer, Angela Carter created haunting fiction about travelers surviving their passage through a disintegrating universe. Often based on myth or fairy tale-borrowed or invented for the occasion-her work evokes the most powerful aspects of sexuality and selfhood, of life and death, of apocalypse. Carter's most successful novels include The Magic Toyshop (1967), which received the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and Several Perceptions (1968), winner of the Somerset Maugham Award. The Passion of New Eve (1977), a story of the end of the world and its possible new beginning with failed mankind replaced by a self-generating womankind. She translated many fairy tales and wrote several collections of short stories, including The Bloody Chamber (1979) which won the Cheltenham Festival of Literature Award and was the basis for the powerful movie A Company of Wolves. She worked as a journalist and as a professor at Brown and the University of Texas. She published two nonfiction books of interest: Nothing Sacred, selected writings, and The Sadeian Woman (1979).

Bibliographic information