The Wind in the Willows

Front Cover
Welbeck Publishing Group Limited, Oct 14, 2021 - Animals - 192 pages
This is a story that follows the escapades of four animal friends who live along a river in the English countryside--Toad, Mole, Rat, and Badger. When the Mole leaves his spring-cleaning and heads up into the open air, he embarks on a series of exhilarating adventures with his new friends: the laid-back Ratty, the gruff yet kindly Badger and the self-satisfied, irrepressible Mr. Toad. The impulsive Toad leads the friends from one escapade to the next - from upturned gypsy caravans to stolen motorcars, a daring prison escape and, finally, to a heroic confrontation with the sinister inhabitants of the Wild Wood.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Kenneth Grahame began writing as a means of escaping the drudgery of his job at the bank, and he soon began to have pieces published in journals. The Wind in the Willows began as a bedtime story for Grahame's son Alistair, and was published in 1908, going on to became a huge bestseller. Robert Ingpen was born in 1936 in Geelong, Australia. He studied illustration art and book design at The Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. In 1986 he was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen Medal for his contribution to children's literature and has been honoured with Membership of the Order of Australia. A world-renowned artist and author, he has designed, illustrated and written over 100 books. Robert lives and works in Anglesea, near his home town of Geelong, Australia.

Bibliographic information