Phoenix Rising

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, May 1, 1995 - Fiction - 373 pages
2 Reviews
Pam Am Flight 10 is heading routinely from Seattle to Tokyo when one by one its engines explode. Only brilliant work by its pilot saves the 747 and the hundreds of passengers on board....
At Pan Am headquarters, the newly revived airline is facing a serious setback--rumors of financial uncertainty have panicked Wall Street and sent stock prices and bond ratings plummeting....
At the airline's maintenance facility, a mysterious intruder has left behind evidence of possible industrial sabotage....
Since the new Pan Am has risen from the ashes of deregulation to challenge the big three U.S. airlines, nothing has gone smoothly. Now with threats from all sides, Pan Am's chief pilot Brian Murphy, its new chief financial officer Elizabeth Sterling, and international financier Creighton MacRae must work together to save the beleaguered airline--if their personal feelings don't get in the way....
"The Airport of the 1990s...A superb novel."
--Library Journal

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Combining elements of the financial and the aviation thriller, Nance (Scorpion Strike, 1992) puts together a would-be page-turner marred by cardboard-thin, uninvolving characters and a not entirely ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate



Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

15 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

John J. Nance was born on July 5, 1946. He received a Bachelor's Degree from SMU and a Juris Doctor from SMU School of Law, and is a licensed aerospace attorney. He is a decorated Air Force pilot veteran of Vietnam and Operations Desert Storm/Desert Shield, and he is a Lieutenant Colonel in the USAF Reserve. He is also an internationally recognized air safety analyst and advocate, and is the Aviation Analyst for ABC World News and the Aviation Editor for Good Morning America. He has written several non-fiction books including Splash of Colors, Blind Trust, On Shaky Ground, What Goes Up, and Golden Boy. He has also written numerous novels including Final Approach, Scorpion Strike, Phoenix Rising, The Last Hostage, Blackout, Headwind, Turbulence, Skyhook, Fire Flight, and Saving Cascadia. His novels Pandora's Clock and Medusa's Child both aired as two-part mini-series on television.

Bibliographic information