Hitchcock, the first forty-four films

Front Cover
An influential, chronological analysis of Hitchcock's first forty-four films, from Number Thirteen (1922) to The Wrong Man (1957), focuses on the recurrent motif of the exchange and on the growth of a unified body of work

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


End of the SilentsBeginning of the TalkiesBritish
The GaumontBritish Period 19341937

7 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1979)

The French filmmaker and writer Eric Rohmer began as an editor of the influential film journal Les Cahiers du Cinema. His first feature film was The Sign of the Lion (1959). Considered one of the important New Wave directors, Rohmer is best known for a group of films he calls Six Moral Tales. Each examines the dilemma of a man who is on the brink of committing himself to one woman but discovers he is greatly attracted to another woman; in each film, the man returns to his original choice, who is his moral ideal. Though these works contain a great deal of dialogue, they retain their visual allure. The final three in the group---My Night at Maud's (1968), Claire's Knee (1970), and Chloe in the Afternoon (1972)---won Rohmer an international reputation. His recent works include a new cycle of films based on each of the four seasons.

Bibliographic information