A Bitter Truth: A Bess Crawford Mystery

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Aug 30, 2011 - Fiction - 368 pages
33 Reviews

“Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”
—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”
—Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jamespurcell - LibraryThing

One of Todd's best in this fine series. The mystery sustains until the end as Bess tries to find and rescue a beautiful orphan girl. Meanwhile back in England, who is killing the people in the Forest? Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Lauren2013 - LibraryThing

A Bitter Truth 3.5 Stars On leave from the front, WWI nurse Bess Crawford, encounters a woman alone on a rainy night in London. After taking the young woman in, Bess quickly learns that not everything ... Read full review

Contents

Dedication
Chapter
Chapter Four
Chapter
Chapter Nine
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Sixteen
Chapter Eighteen
About the authors
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Charles Todd is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and two stand-alone novels. A mother-and-son writing team, they live on the East Coast.

Bibliographic information