Circle of Pearls

Front Cover
Doubleday, 1990 - Fiction - 519 pages
1 Review
Set in England in the late 1600s, this richly crafted generational saga encompasses the aftermath of the English Civil War, the Great Plague, the Fire of London, and the rebuilding of St. Paul's, demonstrating Laker's masterful blending of historical detail with romance. Reader's Digest Condensed Book selection.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

22 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

Author Barbara Geils Ovstedal uses the pen name Rosalind Laker for her historical romances. Her interest in history began early, when she became intrigued by the stories she heard about her ancestors; some of those stories, in fact, formed the basis for several of her historical novels. Laker researches the historical settings for her novels very carefully, so that she can create an accurate background and atmosphere for her stories. Her titles include Sovereign's Key, Far Seeks the Heart, Warwyck's Woman, The Venetian Mask, Circle of Pearls, The Fragile Hour, and The Golden Tulip. Under her own name, Ovstedal has written a travel book about Norway, as well as several novels, including Red Cherry Summer, Valley of the Reindeer, and Souvenir of Sweden. Laker's interest in Norway stems from her Norwegian husband, Inge Ovstedal, whom she met while he was serving with the Free Norwegian Air Force during World War II. Laker and her husband live mainly in England, but they also have a summer home in Norway, a 400-year old cottage that they restored themselves, which gave Laker the opportunity to indulge her interests in old houses and antique furniture.

Bibliographic information