The Birdcage: A Novel

Front Cover
Macmillan, Apr 1, 2010 - Fiction - 352 pages
3 Reviews

It was Felix Hamilton who named it the Birdcage--the tall house in Bristol where Miss Pidgeon lives with her tenants, the beautiful and talented actress Angel Blake and Angel's daughter, Lizzie. Lizzie longed for a father, but Felix knew that ultimately he would have to remain with his own son, Piers, at the gracious, mellow Michaelgarth, the family home on the edge of Exmoor.

Many years later, Lizzie comes at last to Michaelgarth and meets Piers for the first time. There she finds a family in trouble--and miraculously, they need her to help them heal.

Written with shining honesty and compassion, The Birdcage has every bit of the wonder that Marcia Willett's fans have come to expect.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

A lovely book! Lizzie sets out to fill in some of the missing pieces of her past, in an often moving story that revolves around some delightful people. Highly recommended to anyone who likes character-driven gentle novels. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kellyn - LibraryThing

This touching story describes how we create families, lose family members and sometimes, if we are very lucky, find them again. Willett captures the devestating consequences of jealousy, bitterness ... Read full review

Selected pages


Act Two
Act Three
Act Four

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Born in Somerset, in the West Country of England, Marcia Willett was the youngest of five girls. Her family was unconventional and musical, but Marcia chose to train as a ballet dancer. Unfortunately, her body did not develop with the classical proportions demanded by the Royal Ballet, so she studied to be a ballet teacher. Her first husband was a naval officer in the submarine serivce; their son, Charles, is now married and a clergyman. Her second husband, Rodney, himself a writer and broadcaster, encouraged Marcia to write novels. The Birdcage follows three earlier novels, A Week in Winter, A Summer in the Country, and The Children's Hour.

Bibliographic information