The Stories of Erskine Caldwell

Front Cover
University of Georgia Press, 1996 - Fiction - 664 pages
This collection of ninety-six stories was first published in 1953 and presents the best of Erskine Caldwell's short fiction from his most productive period of work. Included is "Crown-Fire," which James Dickey praised as "the best story in the language," and such personal favorites of Caldwell as "Country Full of Swedes," "The Windfall," "Horse Thief," "Yellow Girl," and "Kneel to the Rising Sun."

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RussellBittner - LibraryThing

In addition to his three novels (God’s Little Acre, Tobacco Road and Gretta), I’ve now read his collected short stories. I said in my review of Gretta at the end of last year that Caldwell was the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1996)

Erskine Caldwell (1903-1987) was born in Newnan, Georgia. He became one of America's most widely read, prolific, and critically debated writers, with a literary output of more than sixty titles. At the time of his death, Caldwell's books had sold eighty million copies worldwide in more than forty languages. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1984.

Bibliographic information