Legends: Stories By The Masters of Modern Fantasy

Front Cover
Robert Silverberg
Macmillan, Sep 8, 2001 - Fiction - 720 pages
2 Reviews

Acclaimed writer and editor Robert Silverberg gathered eleven of the finest writers in Fantasy to contribute to this collection of short novels. Each of the writers was asked to write a new story based on one of his or her most famous series: from Stephen King's opening piece set in his popular Gunslinger universe to Robert Jordan's early look at his famed Wheel of Time saga, these stories are exceptionally well written and universally well told. The authors include King, Jordan, and Silverberg himself, as well as Terry and Lyn Pratchett, Terry Goodkind, Orson Scott Card, Ursula K. Le Guin, Tad Williams, George R.R. Martin, Anne McCaffrey, and Raymond E. Feist.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Eleven substantial new "short novels" set in (mostly) famous multivolume fantasy worlds that need little or no introduction. Stephen King offers a tale of the Dark Tower featuring Roland the ... Read full review

Review: Legends (Legends I (all stories))

User Review  - Scott Reba - Goodreads

When I was going through my sci-fi/fantasy phase and was looking for new authors to pick up, I used this book as a kind of litmus test for those authors. I never would have picked up some of those authors otherwise. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2001)

Robert Silverberg has written more than 160 science fiction novels and nonfiction books, and has edited over 60 anthologies. He published his first story in 1954 while just a sophomore at Columbia University; in 1956, he won his first Hugo Award, for Most Promising New Author. His works include the bestselling Lord Valentine trilogy and the timeless classics Dying Inside and A Time of Changes. Silverberg has won the prestigious Nebula Award an astonishing five times, as well as four Hugo Awards. He holds the additional honor of winning these honors in five decades, and he has been nominated for both awards more times that any other writer.

Bibliographic information