Inside the Outbreaks: The Elite Medical Detectives of the Epidemic Intelligence Service

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010 - Medical - 418 pages
1 Review

Since its founding in 1951, the Epidemic Intelligence Service has waged war on every imaginable ailment. When an epidemic hits, the EIS will be there to crack the case, however mysterious or deadly, saving countless lives in the process. Over the years they have successfully battled polio, cholera, and smallpox, to name a few, and in recent years have turned to the epidemics killing us now—smoking, obesity, and gun violence among them. 

The successful EIS model has spread internationally: former EIS officers on the staff of the Centers for Disease Control have helped to establish nearly thirty similar programs around the world. EIS veterans have gone on to become leaders in the world of public health in organizations such as the World Health Organization. 

Inside the Outbreaks takes readers on a riveting journey through the history of this remarkable organization, following Epidemic Intelligence Service officers on their globetrotting quest to eliminate the most lethal and widespread threats to the world’s health.


What people are saying - Write a review

INSIDE THE OUTBREAKS: The Elite Medical Detectives of the Epidemic Intelligence Service

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Pendergrast (Mirror Mirror: A History of the Human Love Affair with Reflection, 2003, etc.) provides an exhaustive account of the "shoe-leather epidemiologists" who trek to the world's troubled spots ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - charlierb3 - LibraryThing

Book: Inside the Outbreaks: The Elite Medical Detectives of the Epidemic Intelligence Service by Mark Pendergrast About: Pendergrast tells stories of the Center for Disease Control's Epidemic ... Read full review


Cold War Hot Pathogens
Killer Vaccine GoatHair Anthrax Rabid Bats
Pandemic Flu Purple Enteritis on Mars
The Diaspora
Fighting Pox Pandemics and Special Pathogens
Eradication Escalation

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

MARK PENDERGRAST is the author of four other nonfiction books: Mirror Mirror, Uncommon Grounds, Victims of Memory, and For God, Country & Coca-Cola .

Bibliographic information