The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere:, Volume 1

Front Cover
Penguin, Jun 15, 2010 - Juvenile Fiction - 272 pages
22 Reviews
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lon2000 - LibraryThing

About a girl named Olive who moves into an old house with her parents. She meets 3 magical cats and discovers she can go into the paintings on the walls with a pair of magical glasses she finds. The house was previous Y owned by a family of witches Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - alaina.loescher - LibraryThing

This was a fun read. I can see this book being useful for having students make character descriptions as the personalities of the characters are eclectic and stable. In general, I found the book to be ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.

Bibliographic information