Star Trek: The Classic Episodes 1, Volume 1

Front Cover
Bantam Books, 1991 - Fiction - 646 pages
Explore the final frontier with science fiction's well known captain, crew and starship, with 27 tales of high adventure from the first season of episodes. Such stories as "The naked time", "Shore leave", "The squire of Gothos", "Space seed" and "The city on the edge of forever" are included.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - unclebob53703 - LibraryThing

First purchased these stories when I was in High School, in multiple volumes; they're story adaptations of Star Trek TOS episodes, and I was perpetually starved for more Star Trek. Nice to have them all again in the three-volume set Read full review


Introduction by D C Fontana
Prefaces to the Original Editions
Foreword to Star Trek 12

21 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

James Benjamin Blish was born on May 23, 1921 in East Orange, N.J. Blish trained as a biologist at Rutgers and Columbia University, and spent 1942 - 1944 as a medical technician in the United States Army. After the war he became the science editor for the Pfizer pharmaceutical company. His first published story appeared in 1940, and his writing career progressed until he gave up his job to become a professional writer. From 1962 to 1968, he worked for the Tobacco Institute. Between 1967 and his death from lung cancer in 1975, Blish wrote authorized short story collections based upon the 1960s TV series Star Trek. He wrote 11 volumes adapting episodes of the series. He died midway through writing Star Trek 12. Perhaps Blish's most famous works were the "Okies" stories, known collectively as Cities in Flight, published in the science-fiction digest magazine Astounding Science Fiction. Some of James Blish's other works include The Vanished Jet, And All the Stars a Stage, The Quincunx of Time, and Flight of Eagles.

Bibliographic information