Bartokś Mikrokosmos: Genesis, Pedagogy, and Style

Front Cover
Scarecrow Press, 2002 - Music - 185 pages
1 Review
"Bela Bartok's Mikrokosmos is a collection of 153 pieces for piano designed by the composer as a series graded according to difficulty. The pieces were written between 1926 and 1939 and have become by far the best-known series of teaching pieces by a major composer in the twentieth century." "This study investigates Bartok's Mikrokosmos from three main viewpoints: the genesis of the pieces, their pedagogical value, and their stylistic qualities. The book is intended for piano teachers, students, and performers, as well as anyone interested in Bartok's life and work as pianist, educator, and composer."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BooksForDinner - LibraryThing

A great insight to the study and teaching of Bartok's Mikrokosmos. Read full review


Bart6k as Pianist
Bart5k as Teacher
Background and Development of the Mikrokosmos

15 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Benjamin Suchoff is Adjunct Professor in the Department of Ethnomusicology at the University of California, Los Angeles and a member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He has been successor trustee of the estate of BZla Bart-k, curator of its New York Bart-k Archive, and editor of the fifteen-volume Bart-k Archive Studies in Musicology Series and the two volumes of the Bart-k Archive Edition series of piano works.

Bibliographic information