Crime and Mystery: The 100 Best Books

Front Cover
Basic Books, Nov 19, 1996 - Fiction - 219 pages
2 Reviews
H.R.F Keating, author ofThe Perfect Murder and mystery reviewer for theTimes of London, offers a concise commentary on the finest mystery books ever written. From Poe's tales of mystery and imagination to P. D. James'sA Taste for Death, Keating delivers a highly-readable evaluation of 100 authors and their masterpieces. This collection is a must for all devoted mystery readers.

"Something to offer almost everyone. If you are only just embarking on a life of crime fiction . . . a reliable guide."--New York Times

"Remarkably balanced and highly entertaining."--Library Journal

"Keating, himself a mystery writer of note, has compiled a truly standout survey . . .This is a gold mine of lively writing, sensible insights and easy-going erudition."--Philadelphia Inquirer

"Ideal browsing fare."--Booklist

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mschaefer - LibraryThing

Keating chooses his 100 best crime & mystery novels writing short (2-page) capsule reviews for each. He starts with Wilkie Collins and ends with P.D. James. Some interesting suggestions and observations in here. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jburlinson - LibraryThing

Keating seems like a very nice man. Earnest and sincere. I think I've read just about all of critical items in his book (though not in order) -- usually just after I have read the title in question ... Read full review


The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins 1868
The Amateur Craclesman by E W Hornung 1899
The Circular Staircase by Mary Roberts Rinehart 1908
The Mind ofMr G Reeder by Edgar Wallace 1925
Death ofMy Aunt by C H B Kitchin 1929
The Sands of Windee by Arthur W Upfield 1931
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie 1934
The Hollow Man by ohn Dickson Carr 1935
The Daughter of Time by josephine Tey 1951
The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith 1955
The Expendable Man by Dorothy B Hughes 1963
The Glasssided Ants Nest by Peter Dickinson 1968
The Tremor of Forgery by Patricia Highsmith 1969
Mirror Mirror on the Wall by Stanley Ellin 1972
The Blue Hammer by Ross MacDonald
A Pinch of Snuff by Reginald Hill 1978

The Beast Must Die by Nicholas Blake 1938
Calamity Town by Ellery Queen 1942
Tragedy at Law by Cyril Hare 1942 OOOOlllJO UIIOlUIbJD
To Make a Killing by June Thompson 1982

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1996)

H. R. F. Keating (Henry Reymond Fitzwalter "Harry" Keating) was born in St. Leonards-on-Sea on October 31, 1926. He attended Merchant Taylor's School in London, England and Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland. He worked for The Times (London) as the crime books reviewer from 1967 to 1983. His first novel, Death and the Visiting Firemen, was published in 1959. He wrote about 50 fiction and nonfiction works during his lifetime, but is best known for the Inspector Ghote series. His other works include the Harriet Martens Mysteries series and Sherlock Holmes: The Man and His World. Keating received the CWA Gold Dagger Award in 1964 for The Perfect Murder and in 1980 for The Murder of the Maharajah, the Edgar Alan Poe award in 1988, the George N. Dove Award in 1995, and the CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger for outstanding service to crime fiction in 1996. He died of cardiac failure on March 27, 2011 at the age of 84.

Bibliographic information