With Malice Toward None: A Biography of Abraham Lincoln

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Jan 5, 1994 - Biography & Autobiography - 544 pages
115 Reviews

The definitive life of Abraham Lincoln, With Malice Toward None is historian Stephen B. Oates's acclaimed and enthralling portrait of America's greatest leader. Oates masterfully charts, with the pacing of a novel, Lincoln's rise from bitter poverty in America's midwestern frontier to become a self-made success in business, law, and regional politics. The second half of the book examines his legendary leadership on the national stage as president during one of the country's most tumultuous and bloody periods, the Civil War years, which concluded tragically with Lincoln's assassination. In this award-winning biography, Lincoln steps forward out of the shadow of myth as a recognizable, fully drawn American whose remarkable life continues to inspire and inform us today.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Beautiful, lyrical prose. - Goodreads
Incredible. A page turner. - Goodreads
Offers great insight into Pres. Lincoln. - Goodreads
Simply fantastic overview of Lincoln's life. - Goodreads
Educational, interesting, inspiring. - Goodreads
The included pictures helped some. - Goodreads

Review: With Malice Toward None: A Biography of Abraham Lincoln

User Review  - Steph - Goodreads

While not a page-turner, this book was very interesting. I wanted to learn more about Lincoln--not the idealized man, but the real one--and I feel like this book did a decent job. I don't know that it ... Read full review

Review: With Malice Toward None: A Biography of Abraham Lincoln

User Review  - Brad Nolan - Goodreads

More insightful than I ever imagined. Lincoln, in many ways, is not the man or the president that modern history teaches. The book digs into great details and facts about his life and his presidency ... Read full review

About the author (1994)

font face=arial size=2
Stephen B. Oates is the author of sixteen books, including The Approaching Fury; With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln and Let the Trumpet Sound: A Life of Martin Luther King, Jr., the latter two books winning, respectively, the Christopher Award and the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Book Award. They have been translated into several languages.

Oates was a consultant and "talking head" in Ken Burns's Civil War series on PBS, and is a recipient of the Nevins-Freeman Award of the Chicago Civil War Round Table for lifetime achievement in the field of Civil War studies. A teacher at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, he is now writing the concluding book of the Voices of Storm trilogy, about the years of Reconstruction, 1865-1877./Font

Bibliographic information