A Series of Unfortunate Events #4: The Miserable Mill

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 13, 2009 - Juvenile Fiction - 208 pages


I hope, for your sake, that you have not chosen to read this book because you are in the mood for a pleasant experience. If this is the case, I advise you to put this book down instantaneously, because of all the books describing the unhappy lives of the Baudelaire orphans, The Miserable Mill might be the unhappiest yet. Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are sent to Paltryville to work in a lumber mill, and they find disaster and misfortune lurking behind every log. The pages of this book, I'm sorry to inform you, contain such unpleasantries as a giant pincher machine, a bad casserole, a man with a cloud of smoke where his head should be, a hypnotist, a terrible accident resulting in injury, and coupons. I have promised to write down the entire history of these three poor children, but you haven't, so if you prefer stories that are more heartwarming, please feel free to make another selection.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket


What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

this book is great book and has series of epoiseds in Netflix there is a new series that already came up
but it is and unhappily ever after book its unhappily ever after book because count olaf
wants to steal their parents fortune a.k.a their money because their parents died in a house fire this book is about this person who had a very sad injury because of the miller Enjoy this book its great
it might book old but give it a chance its great u are gonna love it.
auther of the unfortunate event series . Lemony snickets
thank you for reading make sure to review the book 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 13 and if there more okay to.

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Super good book


Chapter Five
Chapter Eight
To My Kind Editor

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Lemony Snicket had an unusual education which may or may not explain his ability to evade capture. He is the author of the 13 volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events, several picture books including The Dark, and the books collectively titled All The Wrong Questions.

Brett Helquist's celebrated art has graced books from the charming Bedtime for Bear, which he also wrote, to the New York Times–bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket to the glorious picture book adaptation of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.

Michael Kupperman has done many illustrations for such publications as Fortune, The New Yorker, and The New York Times. He frequently writes scripts for DC Comics. This is his first book.

Bibliographic information