Trying Hard Is Not Good Enough: How to Produce Measurable Improvements for Customers and Communities

Front Cover
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, Sep 3, 2015 - Evaluation research (Social action programs) - 202 pages
This is the 10th Anniversary Edition of Mark Friedman's acclaimed book about Results-Based Accountability (RBA) also known in parts of the UK as Outcomes-Based Accountability (OBA). This is a "how to" book for government and nonprofit agencies working at the city, county, state, and national levels to improve community quality of life and the performance of program services. RBA is a common sense approach that replaces all the overly-complex and jargon-laden methods foisted on us in the past. The methods can be learned and applied quickly. And all the materials are free for use by government and non-profit organizations. In addition to providing practical methods, the book also makes a contribution to social theory by explaining the contribution relationship between program performance and community quality of life. As such it is a valuable tool for both program administrators and evaluators. The RBA framework has been used in over 40 U.S. states and numerous countries around the world. Additional information about RBA can be found on the FPSI website and in the soon-to-be-released RBA Companion Reader. (For those who already have the 2009 edition of Trying Hard Is Not Good Enough, please note that there is no change in the basic message and structure of RBA, and the 2009 and 2015 editions can be used concurrently.) A complete inventory of changes in the 2015 edition can be found on the FPSI website.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This bio is incorrect. Google books, please change it.
Here is a correct version:
Mark is author of the book Trying Hard Is Not Good Enough: How to produce measurable improvements for customers and
communities (2005, 2015 - over 65,000 sold) used for community and organizational change by governments and nonprofits around the world, Turning Curves: An Accountability Companion Reader (2015), The Origin of Consciousness: The Natural Selection of Choice-Making Systems (2012) and several pieces for the stage, including Waiting for Waiting for Godot produced by the Santa Fe Playhouse in 2017. His 20 years in government were followed by four years with The Center for the Study of Social Policy in Washington DC, and 20 plus years as an international speaker and consultant. Other interests include fractal art and chamber music composition. Mark lives in Santa Fe NM with Terry Wilson, a creative writing teacher at the Santa Fe Community College and author of Confessions of a Failed Saint. - MF 

About the author (2015)

Mark Friedman grew up in Silver Spring, Maryland. In high school he organized a rally against apartheid & got arrested at the South African embassy. He attended film school at the University of Southern California, where he wrote a short film titled "Broken Record," which the Disney Channel optioned for a cable television movie. Friedman has also worked on the Dukakis campaign, read scripts for the Fox Network, taught for the "Princeton Review," attended law school for a semester, & attended the writing program at Johns Hopkins University, where he is currently a visiting lecturer. His book "Columbus Slaughters Braves" was inspired by a 1995 baseball game in which Cal Ripkin broke Lou Gehrig's consecutive games record. Though Friedman loves baseball for its innate drama, he maintains that he has no athletic ability whatsoever. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Bibliographic information