Jungle: A Harrowing True Story of Adventure, Danger and Survival

Front Cover
Summersdale Publishers, Jul 14, 2016 - Bolivia - 317 pages
***Feature length film to be released in 2017 starring Daniel Radcliffe*** I heard the rustle again, too close and too real to ignore. I clutched the flashlight, stuck my head out of the mosquito net... and found myself face-to-face with a jaguar. Four travellers meet in Bolivia and set off into the Amazon rainforest on an expedition to find a hidden tribe and explore places tourists only dream of seeing. But what begins as the adventure of a lifetime quickly becomes a struggle for survival when they get lost in the wilds of the jungle. The group splits up after disagreements, and Yossi and his friend try to find their own way back without a guide. But when a terrible rafting accident separates them, Yossi is forced to survive for weeks alone in one of the most unpredictable environments on the planet. Stranded without a knife, map or survival training, he must improvise shelter and forage for wild fruit to survive. As his skin begins to rot from his feet during raging storms and he loses all sense of direction, he wonders if he will make it back alive. Ghinsberg's terrifying true account of his ordeal is simply impossible to put down. A harrowing true story of adventure and survival. Four backpackers meet in Bolivia and set off into the rainforest on a dream expedition, lured by the promise of uncharted villages and forgotten tribes hidden in places tourists only dream of seeing. But what begins as the adventure of a lifetime quickly becomes a struggle for survival when they get lost in the wilds of the Amazonian jungle. The group splits up after disagreements, and Yossi and Kevin try to find their own way without a guide. When a terrible rafting accident separates the two men, Yossi is forced to survive for weeks alone in one of the most unpredictable environments on the planet. Stranded without a knife, map or survival training, he must improvise shelter and forage for wild fruit to survive. As his skin begins to rot from his feet during raging storms, he wonders if any of them will make it back alive. Told with gripping immediacy, it's an extraordinary, terrifying tale that you won't be able to put down. AUTHOR: Since surviving his incredible ordeal, Yossi Ghinsberg has become a public speaker much in demand - he has been on the Discovery Channel and Larry King in 2007 and travels around the world giving motivational talks. For more information on Yossi, see www.ghinsberg.com SELLING POINTS: * To be made into a feature length film starring Daniel Radcliffe * Will appeal to fans of The Beach and Touching the Void * Reads like a novel but is an extraordinary true story * This international bestseller in hardback - has sold 100,000 copies

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2016)

Since surviving his incredible ordeal, Yossi Ghinsberg has become a public speaker much in demand - he has been on the Discovery Channel and Larry King Live - and travels around the world giving motivational talks. Yossi lives in Israel, Australia and the USA. For more information, see www.ghinsberg.com.

His clients include Toshiba, AXA, Hilton, Fujitsu, Philips and Pfizer to name but a few.

Bibliographic information