Modern Music: The Avant Garde Since 1945

Front Cover
G. Braziller, 1981 - Music - 331 pages
A look at music since 1945 focuses on the development of new instrument technology, the theory of serialism, and the use of chance or choice in composition

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Paris 19458
New York 194850
DarmstadtParis 19512

11 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1981)

The author of numerous books on music, and for many years chief music critic on The Times, Paul Griffiths now writes regularly for The New Yorker. He is the author of Bartok (Master Musicians Series, J.M. Dent, 1984), Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of 20th-Century Music (1986), Stravinsky (Master
Musicians, 1992), and a contributor to The Oxford Illustrated History of Opera (1994).

Bibliographic information