The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, May 8, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 295 pages
18 Reviews
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look!

When summer comes around, it's off to the beach for Rosalind . . . and off to Maine with Aunt Claire for the rest of the Penderwick girls, as well as their old friend, Jeffrey.

That leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick)--a terrifying notion for all, but for Skye especially. Things look good as they settle into their cozy cottage, with a rocky shore, enthusiastic seagulls, a just-right corner store, and a charming next-door neighbor.  But can Skye hold it together long enough to figure out Rosalind's directions about not letting Batty explode?  Will Jane's Love Survey come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty--contrary to all accepted wisdom--the only Penderwick capable of carrying a tune?  And will Jeffrey be able to keep peace between the girls . . . these girls who are his second, and most heartfelt, family?

It's a rollicking ride as the Penderwicks continue their unforgettable adventures in a story filled with laughs and joyful tears!
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cheryl_in_CC_NV - LibraryThing

Just about perfect. As others have said, it feels sweet and nostalgic, and has a lot more love than so many books now, but it's also fully in touch with enough modern issues that it feels entirely ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cheryl_in_CC_NV - LibraryThing

Just about perfect. As others have said, it feels sweet and nostalgic, and has a lot more love than so many books now, but it's also fully in touch with enough modern issues that it feels entirely ... Read full review

Contents

ONE Going Going
1
TWO Gone
17
THREE The End of the List
30
FOUR A New Song
42
SEVEN Another Accident
89
EIGHT Moose
109
NINE Burning Wishes
127
TEN Seals and a Kiss
146
ELEVEN Haircuts
167
TWELVE The Thunderstorm
186
THIRTEEN Questions
202
FOURTEEN Answers and More Questions
221
FIFTEEN An Unwelcome Visitor
245
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

JEANNE BIRDSALL lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband. Their house is old and comfortable, full of unruly animals, and surrounded by gardens. The Penderwicks at Point Mouette is her third novel.


From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information