The Nine Lives of Romeo Crumb: Life One

Front Cover
Stratford Road Press, 2005 - Juvenile Fiction - 311 pages
2 Reviews
For ages 9-12. L Rifkin proves once and for all that every cat is born to live and die nine times. In fact, the familiar myth is turned completely on its head in this remarkable book. The secret world of cats is revealed in this epic tale of feline civil war, where we meet young Romeo, a stray who finds himself battered between two very different worlds. It's the domestic cats, the Sticks vs the street cats, the Alleys. As battle lines are drawn, warriors train for combat and a hero emerges to inspire a nation. Fraught with danger from page one, Romeo loses his family at the claws of Fidel and his gang of vicious Alleys. After being rescued from the Pound, Romeo finds a new home with 'his person', 9-year-old Dennis Crumb. As long as Romeo stays inside with his adopted family he's safe, however, when he ventures out he finds danger lurking around every corner. Fortunately, Queen Elizabeth, a wise cat who lives nearby, befriends Romeo. She takes him to the Factory, a burned-out building where other Sticks secretly learn how to defend themselves from the Alleys and the indifferent humans of the city.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate


User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I find this book to be very iteresting. In this book Romeo Crumb meets a great friend that would do anything for him. Romeo has an orange dimond in his back the same as his brothers but what will he do when he finds out that they were all killed by Fidel the alley cat? what will he do when he finds out that his best friend was already a niner without telling him? What will he do when she dies? Read the book and you will soon know too. 


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

13 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Upon entering the shadowy and clandestine world of felines, L. Rifkin made a remarkable discovery, that cats do have nine lives. As a teacher for almost ten years, Rifkin observed the countless books her students read, and it was their natural curiosity about the secret communication between animals that finally inspired her to write The Nine Lives of Romeo Crumb. She created a remarkable nine book series, each book ending in one of Romeo’s deaths until all his nine lives were gone. L. Rifkin currently teaches kindergarten in Los Angeles, California. She and her husband, artist/illustrator Kurt Hartman, share a home with their infant son Henry and four rambunctious cats.

Bibliographic information