Children's Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2005

Front Cover
A & C Black, 2004 - Reference - 352 pages
0 Reviews

This is the first comprehensive guide to markets in all areas of the children's media. It has twenty specially commissioned articles by famous authors and illustrators such as Michael Morpurgo and JK Rowling; top editors and best-selling publishers; leading TV & Radio producers and other experts in the field of children's media. It is aimed at anyone wishing to write or illustrate a book, play or film for children.

Listings include: Children's Publishers; Children's Literary Agents; Children's Art Agencies and Studios; Children's Book Packagers; Children's Media: Radio, Television, Newspapers, Magazines, Websites; Greetings Card Publishers; Children's Theatre Producers and Touring Companies; Children's Literature and Educational Magazines; Children's Literature prizes/awards; Children's Literature conferences and courses Children's Literature Websites Children's Literature and media prises/awards Calendar of awards Children's Literature Conferences and courses Specialist Children's Bookshops

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2004)

A & C Black Publishers Ltd, founded in 1807 in Edinburgh, Scotland, and owned by Bloomsbury, publishes reference materials in addition to books on sports, fitness, and training; visual arts, glass, ceramics, and printmaking; all aspects of sailing and boating; and bird watching and wildlife.

British author Michael Morpurgo was born in St. Albans, Hertforshire in 1943. He attended the University of London and studied English and French. He became a primary school teacher in Kent for about ten years. He and his wife Clare started a charity called Farms for City Children. They currently own three farms where over 2000 children a year stay for a week and experience the countryside by taking part in purposeful farmwork. He has published over 100 books and several screenplays. He won the 1995 Whitbread Children's Book Award for The Wreck of the Zanzibar, the 1996 Nestle Smarties Book Prize for The Butterfly Lion, and the 2000 Children's Book Award for Kensuke's Kingdom. Private Peaceful won the 2005 Red House Children's Book Award and the Blue Peter Book of the Year Award. Five of his books have been made into movies and two have been adapted for television. He was named as the third Children's Laureate in May 2003.

Bibliographic information