Tell Me Three Things

Front Cover
Random House Children's Books, Apr 5, 2016 - Young Adult Fiction - 336 pages
22 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
A New York Times Bestseller

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

 
Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

“Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookworm12 - LibraryThing

I was in a reading rut and needed something fun, this fit the bill. My complaint is that the big reveals were obvious from page one. The part I connected with was Jessie’s grief. Like me, she lost her ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - readingbeader - LibraryThing

Jessi is reeling from the death of her mother and her father's sudden remarriage, which in turn upends her from her home in Chicago and moves her to LA. After starting in her new school, she gets an ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
9
Section 3
19
Section 4
24
Section 5
35
Section 6
49
Section 7
53
Section 8
61
Section 19
168
Section 20
181
Section 21
191
Section 22
202
Section 23
211
Section 24
213
Section 25
225
Section 26
234

Section 9
69
Section 10
72
Section 11
82
Section 12
96
Section 13
103
Section 14
120
Section 15
123
Section 16
134
Section 17
146
Section 18
153
Section 27
246
Section 28
258
Section 29
269
Section 30
277
Section 31
280
Section 32
287
Section 33
295
Section 34
313
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

1. JULIE BUXBAUM is the author of the critically acclaimed The Opposite of Love and After You, and her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Tell Me Three Things is her first novel for young adults. 2. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, two young children, and an immortal goldfish. 3. Julie once received an anonymous email, which inspired Jessie’s story.
 
Visit Julie online at juliebuxbaum.com and follow @juliebux on Twitter, where she doesn’t list everything in groups of three.

Bibliographic information