Breathe, Volume 1

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 2, 2012 - Young Adult Fiction - 400 pages
4 Reviews

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

john likes busty women

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Breathe
Review by: Sarah Haggerty
Author: Sarah Crossan
Genre: Dystopian
“Inhale. Exhale. Breathe…… Breathe…… Breathe……” The book Breathe published in 2012 by GreenWillow Books, takes place in a dome in which they call…… The Pod, a huge dome surrounding the city. The author Sarah Crossan, takes her and the readers through an amazing journey of thievery, betrayal, love, and justice in only 371 pages. In the future, our planet becomes airless. Dependent on the company Breathe to pump oxygen into the Pod in which they live. People struggle to survive. It’s either breathe or die.
As I have already told you, this dystopian genre takes place in the future. After the human race destroys all of the trees, which they had called the Switch, The Earth becomes deprived of oxygen. Only six percent remained. This book is told in first person switching in between chapters with the point of views from our protagonists and three main characters Bea, Quinn, and Alina. Bea is only sixteen and an auxiliary (a lower class citizen of the Pod.) Her parents work day and night just so her family can breathe. Their dream for her is to become a Premium (an upper class citizen of the Pod) so she will not have to suffer. Also, Bea is hopelessly in love….. with a boy who will probably never love her back… or will he? Next, there is Quinn, a sixteen year old energetic boy with a purple tattooed earlobe marking him as a Premium. His father is a general for their army and is part of the Breathe company. Even though the family seems perfect it is broken apart. Quinn’s father, Mr. Caffrey, is a harsh, strict man who abuses his son. He also forbids the friendship of Bea and Quinn. But will their friendship even last before then? Both wanted to be in the Breathe Leadership Program but with Quinn’s connections and being a Premium he makes it instead. Lastly, there is Alina, a beautiful girl with sharp green eyes. But trust me she is far from perfect. Alina is a thief, stealing plants from the biosphere (the only place on Earth where there is still plants) then taking them to the Resistance. Needing help to get out of the Pod, Alina quickly befriends Bea and Quinn who help her through her journey. These three comrades set out to find the Resistance and help save the world….. but will they make it?
Sarah Crossan has definitely written this to entertain young teenage readers with its intriguing plot line. The mood is compelling and confining as the society and government hold the people back from entering the world. Also the message of this book it to fight for whats right even if its hard to reach that goal. For example, the Resistance is fighting to have trees planted so they can one day live without being dependent on the Breathe company. I had practically fallen in love with this book after reading the first page! Every suspenseful chapter leaves you at the edge of your seat. I think this book is absolutely a five star rating, with outstanding beginning, climax, and resolution. I would definitely recommend this prodigious book to teen fans of science fiction and fantasy.
I dearly hope that if or when you read this book you will be astonished and love the unique and original writing style of this author. No exaggeration here, Breathe has left an immense impact on me. To know that the world can come collapsing down around us but we can still get back up on our feet, stay strong, and fight as hard as we can for justice. Furthermore, if you love the book Breathe as much as I do then I suggest that you read the second and last book, Resist.
 

All 4 reviews »

Contents

3
6
9
11
14
16
18
Quinn
Alina
Quinn
Alina
41
Alina
Quinn
44
Alina

20
Quinn
22
Quinn
The Resistance
Quinn
25
Alina
Quinn
28
Quinn
30
Quinn
32
Alina
34
Quinn
Alina
37
Quinn
Alina
48
Alina
50
Alina
52
Quinn
54
Quinn
The Ashes
Alina
57
Acknowledgments
About the Author
Credits
Copyright About the Publisher
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Sarah Crossan is the author of the duology Breathe and Resist, as well as the acclaimed novel-in-verse The Weight of Water, which was short-listed for the Carnegie Medal. She spent several years living and teaching high school in New Jersey before moving to London, where she now lives with her husband and young daughter.

Bibliographic information