Front Cover
Penguin, Jun 28, 2011 - Fiction - 320 pages
Explore Philippa Ballantine’s “richly detailed world” (Nalini Singh) in the second Book of the Order novel.

In a realm of mystics and magic, the Order of Deacons stands between the here and now and the Otherside. Its mission is to protect the citizens of the Empire from malevolent geists—no matter where or when...

Though one of the most powerful Deacons, Sorcha Faris has a tarnished reputation to overcome. She and her partner, Deacon Merrick Chambers, find themselves chasing down rumors of geists, but long for a return to real action. So they jump at the chance to escort a delegation sent to negotiate the terms of the Emperor’s engagement. Their destination: the exotic city of Orithal.
But a string of murders has Orithal on edge, and Sorcha and Merrick are asked to investigate. Meanwhile, the Emperor’s sister has unwittingly unleashed a cruel and vengeful goddess, one who is bent on destroying her enemies, including the geistlord who resides inside the shapeshifting rival to the throne—Sorcha’s lover...

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Azacia - LibraryThing

I would give this book 10 stars if I could. Spectyr is an amazing journey into another realm; Full of adventure, passion, mystery, and romance. This book picks up where Geist left off, with some ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MelHay - LibraryThing

Zofiya, the Grand Duchess and sister to Emperor of Delmaire, has a strong belief in a goddess and a religion of almost 1000 years in a world where most have lost their faith with the coming of geists ... Read full review


ONE A Thing of Beauty
THREE The Bonds of Duty
FIVE Prayers Answered
SEVEN Fallen Dreams
TEN Within a Welcome Embrace
ELEVEN Buried in Roses
THIRTEEN Returning Home
FIFTEEN Lost Loves
NINETEEN Looking Deep
TWENTYONE Interview in a Library
TWENTYTHREE Freedom and Fight
TWENTYFIVE The Eye and the Fist
TWENTYEIGHT Despair and Delight
THIRTY Birthing Sorrow


Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Philippa (Pip) Ballantine is the author of the Book of the Order series, the Shifted World series, the Chronicles of Art series, and—with Tee Morris—the coauthor of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences series. Her podcast of Chasing the Bard won the Sir Julius Vogel Award in 2009, and two of her novels have been short-listed for it. Originally from New Zealand, she now resides in Virginia with her husband, her daughter, and a mighty clowder of cats.

Bibliographic information