The devil's dream

Front Cover
Putnam, 1992 - Fiction - 315 pages
31 Reviews
A sweeping saga about the world of country music by Lee Smith, "a Southern storyteller in the very best tradition {who}, like the best of storytellers, knows how to get out of the way so the story can tell itself".--San Francisco Chronicle. Lee Smith is the author of Fair and Tender Ladies.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Devil's Dream

User Review  - Patricia Kitto - Goodreads

I read this in preparation for our book club's field trip to Nashville in hopes of getting a flavor for the history of country music. The book was loosely based on the lives of the Carter family and I ... Read full review

Review: The Devil's Dream

User Review  - Amanda - Goodreads

I believe that Smith's Fair and Tender Ladies is considered her masterpiece, but for myself, The Devil's Dream is close to perfect. I can hear the voices of these characters as they relate the stories ... Read full review

All 9 reviews »


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

13 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1992)

Lee Smith is a novelist, short story writer, and educator. She was born in 1944 in Grundy, Virginia. Smith attended Hollins College in Roanoke, Virginia. In her senior year at Hollins, Smith entered a Book-of-the-Month Club contest, submitting a draft of a novel called The Last Day the Dog Bushes Bloomed. The book, one of 12 entries to receive a fellowship, was published in 1968. Smith wrote reviews for local papers and continued to write short stories. Smith received O. Henry Awards in 1978 and 1980 and in 1981, her first collection of short stories, Cakewalk, was published. Smith taught at North Carolina State University. Her novel, Oral History, published in 1983, was a Book-of-the-Month Club featured selection. Smith has received the Lila Wallace/Reader's Digest Award, the Robert Penn Warren Prize for Fiction, the North Carolina Award for Fiction, and the Academy Award in Literature presented by the American Academy of Arts and Letters.