The Old Iron Road: An Epic of Rails, Roads, and the Urge to Go West

Front Cover
Viking, 2004 - History - 434 pages
3 Reviews
In the summer of 2000, David Haward Bain and his family left their home in Vermont and headed west in search of America’s past. From Omaha to San Francisco, Bain and his family retraced the entire route of the first transcontinental railroad. Following abandoned railroad tracks and the traces of old wagon trails, cruising down back roads and main streets, they discovered the deep, restless, uniquely American spirit of adventure that connects our past to our present.

A superb writer and an exacting researcher, Bain conjures up the marvelous sense of coming unstuck in time as he lingers in the ghost towns and battlegrounds, prairies and river ports, train yards, museums, and diners that line the old emigrant routes of the railroad and the Lincoln Highway. As he cruises west to California, Bain encounters a fascinating cast of characters, both historic and contemporary—from Willa Cather to Marlon Brando, from pathfinder John Fre┤mont to naturalist Terry Tempest Williams. Here, too, are memories of Bain’s own grandparents and the journeys that shaped his own heritage.

Writing in the tradition of William Least Heat-Moon and Ian Frazier, yet with an engaging warmth and a deep grasp of history all his own, Bain has fashioned a quintessentially American journey.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Othemts - LibraryThing

After completing an historical work on the railroad's role in Western expansion - Empire Express - Bain piled his family into a car to follow a westward route roughly tracing the pioneer trails ... Read full review

Review: The Old Iron Road: An Epic of Rails, Roads, and the Urge to Go West

User Review  - Persephone Abbott - Goodreads

A great tale of crossing the United States by a writer passionate about the country's history. A must read for those who are going on that particular road trip from St. Louis to San Francisco! Beats a guide book any day, and to boot is much much better reading. Read full review

Contents

The Odyssey Begins
3
Rails and the River
27
The Lincoln Highway
43
Copyright

15 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

David Haward Bain is the author of four previous works of nonfiction, including Empire Express and Sitting in Darkness, which received a Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Book Award. His articles and essays have appeared in Smithsonian, American Heritage, Kenyon Review, and Prairie Schooner, and he reviews regularly for The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, and Newsday. He is a teacher at Middlebury College and the Bread Loaf Writers┬' Conference.

Bibliographic information