The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Front Cover
Amber-Allen Pub., 1997 - Self-Help - 138 pages
1847 Reviews

THE FOUR AGREEMENTS

BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

DON'T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won't be the victim of needless suffering.

DON'T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.

ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are tired as opposed to well-rested. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.

OVER SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER LIST!

In THE FOUR AGREEMENTS, don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.

'Don Miguel Ruiz'a book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.'
- Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

'An inspiring book with many great lessons . . . '
- Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic

'In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distils essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.'
- Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
877
4 stars
442
3 stars
283
2 stars
152
1 star
93

Review: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

User Review  - Goodreads

The chapters towards the end were a lot better. The first chapter just made me feel like it's everybody else's fault for being upset or jealous. Didn't really make sense to me. very short book. definitely touches on some really good points. Read full review

Review: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

User Review  - Goodreads

came to me at the right time. I needed it and I highly recommend it. Read full review

All 23 reviews »

Other editions - View all

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1997)

Authors Bio, not available

Bibliographic information