Extraordinary

Front Cover
Dial Books, 2010 - Juvenile Fiction - 393 pages
9 Reviews
For fans of Beautiful Creatures and Wicked Lovely, New York Times Bestselling author Nancy Werlin delivers a captivating novel of friendship and trust, where the past determines the future and a generations-old curse requires the ultimate sacrifice.
 
 
Phoebe is drawn to Mallory, the strange and secretive new girl at school. Soon the two become as close as sisters . . . until Mallory’s magnetic older brother, Ryland, arrives. Ryland has an immediate hold on Phoebe — but it turns into something dangerous, as she begins to question her feelings about her best friend and, worse, about herself. Soon Phoebe discovers the shocking, fantastical truth about Ryland and Mallory, and about an age-old debt she’s meant to pay. Will she be strong enough to save herself from the curse? Intensely page-turning, this follow-up to Nancy Werlin’s acclaimed novel Impossible links the real and the otherworldly in a story that is suspenseful, conversation-starting, and utterly alluring. Continue reading about the Fairy Realm in Werlin’s Unthinkable.


“Werlin raises interesting questions about honesty, love, and what it truly means to be extraordinary” —Publishers Weekly
 
“Werlin crafts her characters so deftly and unrolls the story so cleverly that...readers will be under the spell till the end.” —Booklist
 
“As she did in Impossible Werlin smoothly blends contemporary realism and fantasy.” —The Horn Book

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I don't know what to say about Extraordinary.
I liked it, generally. The characters are all well developed, the plot moves along quite nicely. It's much more in fairie than Impossible. Even when it
's in the real world you get a sense of fairy influence and manipulation.
Like all good fairy stories there are turns that make good people seem bad and bad people seem good, with one exception. But I think I never really loved the main character, Phoebe. Even when she was 18 she felt immature and petulant and maybe that's how some 18-year-olds are but, true or not, it kept me from rooting for her. and I didn't love her romantic interest - either of them. So, the only person I really connected with were her best friend, Mallory, and her mother a little. which is not to say I didn't like the other characters or get into the story. This just isn't an emotional or especially romantic book.
I guess I think this is a good book; a fun, light, easy read and a very decent fairy story. but not especially engaging or wonderful. maybe a great summer, beach read.
 

Review: Extraordinary

User Review  - Hope - Goodreads

I go this book from my local library, it was on a display in YA section. I've seen this book around on blog and bookstores but never paid much attention to it. This my first book by this author and I ... Read full review

All 9 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Nancy Werlin has written eight previous acclaimed novels, including National Book Award Finalist The Rules of Survival and Edgar Award Winner The Killer's Cousin. She and her husband live near Boston, Massachusetts.

Bibliographic information