Thunder and Lightning: Cracking Open the Writer’s Craft

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Jul 26, 2011 - Reference - 228 pages
0 Reviews
In the sequel to her bestselling Writing Down the Bones, Natalie Goldberg advises readers on how to capture the flashes of inspiration of a writer’s life, and turn this “thunder and lightning” into a polished final piece Any writer may find himself or herself with an abundance of raw material, but it takes patience and care to turn this material into finished stories, essays, poems, novels, and memoirs. Referencing her own experiences both as a writer and as a student of Zen, Natalie provides insight into the struggles and demands of turning ideas into concrete form.  Her guidance addresses ways to overcome writer’s block, deal with the fear of criticism and rejection, get the most from working with an editor, and improve one’s writing by reading accomplished authors. She communicates this with her characteristic humor and compassion, and a deep respect for writing as an act of celebration. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Natalie Goldberg, including rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Thunder and lightning: cracking open the writer's craft

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Fans of Goldberg's Writing Down the Bones and Wild Mind will appreciate her latest pep talk for aspiring writers. A writing teacher who has a novel and two memoirs to her credit, Goldberg believes ... Read full review

Contents

Warning
Meeting the Mind
Hallucinating Emeralds
Old Friend from Far Away
The Inner Life of Fiction
Shall We Plot Along?
She Had to Love Chocolate
But Who Is Listening?
Didnt Elvis and Oprah Also Come from Mississippi?
You Cant Do It Alone
You Could Get Lost
Saving Your Life with a Story
Monday Blazes Up Like Gasoline
What Brings You to Your Knees?
Lotus in Muddy Water
RElNlNG IN YOUR WILD HORSES

Smack Into the Moment
Close and Connected
Memoir of Madness
A Writing Retreat
Books I Love
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Natalie Goldberg (b. 1948) is the author of ten books, including Writing Down the Bones, which has sold over one million copies and has been translated into fourteen languages. She has also written the beloved Long Quiet Highway: Waking Up in America, a memoir about her Zen teacher. For the past thirty years she has practiced Zen and taught seminars on writing as a spiritual practice. She lives in northern New Mexico.

Bibliographic information