The Summer Game

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Feb 5, 2013 - Sports & Recreation - 303 pages
5 Reviews
A classic collection of early sportswriting by renowned reporter Roger Angell
Acclaimed New Yorker writer Roger Angell’s first book on baseball, The Summer Game, originally published in 1972, is a stunning collection of his essays on the major leagues, covering a span of ten seasons. Angell brilliantly captures the nation’s most beloved sport through the 1960s, spanning both the winning teams and the “horrendous losers,” and including famed players Sandy Koufax, Bob Gibson, Brooks Robinson, Frank Robinson, Willie Mays, and more. With the panache of a seasoned sportswriter and the energy of an avid baseball fan, Angell’s sports journalism is an insightful and compelling look at the great American pastime.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rosalita - LibraryThing

I always try to read a baseball book in February. Down in Florida and Arizona, spring training is underway as players prepare for the season. Likewise, reading about the sport is sort of my version of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jimrgill - LibraryThing

Few works of art are truly timeless. Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night.” Beethoven’s Fifth. Michelangelo’s David. Add to that list Angell’s “The Summer Game.” The book, a collection of essays Angell ... Read full review


The Old Folks behind Home
The Short Season
The Go Shouters
SIs for So Lovable
A Clean WellLighted Cellar
A Tale of Three Cities
Two Strikes on the Image
The Cool Bubble
A Terrific Strain
The Flowering and Subsequent Deflowering of New England
A Little Noise at Twilight
The Leaping Corpse the Shallow Cellar the French Pastime

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Roger Angell (b. 1920) is a celebrated New Yorker writer and editor. First published in the magazine in 1944, he became a fiction editor and regular contributor in 1956; and remains as a senior editor and staff writer. In addition to seven classic books on baseball, which include The Summer Game (1972), Five Seasons (1977), and Season Ticket (1988), he has written works of fiction, humor, and a memoir, Let Me Finish (2006). He edited the short story collection Nothing But You: Love Stories from The New Yorker(1997). In 2011, he was awarded the PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing. Angell lives in New York City.     

Bibliographic information