Cover Up: An exhilarating racing thriller for horseracing fanatics

Front Cover
Headline, Mar 4, 2010 - Fiction - 250 pages
0 Reviews

A thoroughbred thriller that keeps your heart racing to the finish...

Cover Up is a gripping racing thriller from ex-jockey and racing broadcaster John Francome. The perfect read for fans of Felix Francis' Pulse and Triple Crown and Dick Francis' classic crime novels.

'Jealousy, blackmail and teenage emotions are well-stirred into this exciting mix. In a word - readable' - Herald Sun (Australia)

What's the worst way to die? At the end of a rope driven by your own shame and despair? Or savaged in the jaws of a black-hearted stallion who has hated you for years? If only the bankrupt gambler and the stable girl were alive to give us the answer...

For a jockey they say there's no thrill like riding a big winner but Rob Harding has found something better - that's breeding one. His two-year-old colt Goldeneye is the product of Rob's own stud farm and, as the horse takes the July Stakes at Newmarket in some style, it seems he can lift Rob's failing business out of the mire. But no amount of prize money can deflect the tragedy that's waiting round the corner.

Rob's head girl Ivana, a horse-mad beauty from the Czech Republic, would also revel in Goldeneye's triumph except for the terrifying reappearance of her sadistic ex-lover Milos. She's run a long way to escape from him - but it looks like she hasn't run far enough...

What readers are saying about Cover Up:

'A great book with many twists and turns'

'The pace of the plot stops you from putting it down'

'Just brilliant'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2010)

Ex-National Hunt Champion Jockey John Francome is a broadcaster on racing for Channel 4. His electrifying racing thrillers have also won him legions of fans. He lives in Berkshire.

Bibliographic information