Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Limited, 2009 - Agincourt, Battle of, Agincourt, France, 1415 - 453 pages
1 Review
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
One of England's most dramatic victories, the battle of Agincourt is more than history; it is legend. Immortalized by Shakespeare in Henry V, the against-all-odds fight pitted the undermanned and overwhelmed English against their tireless French adversaries. Following the whole campaign of 1415, from the disasters at the siege of Harfleur to the horrors of the field at Agincourt, this exhilarating epic of survival and slaughter is at once a brilliant work of history and a triumph of imagination, as the author brings to life the inspiring story of the common men who were responsible for the uncommon victory.

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book was a thrilling ride, with its up and downs, love and lost, death and life. If there was any book i would recommend it would be Bernard Cornwell's Azincourt, the way he wrote about Nicholas Hook, it was as if he followed him around France and Britain writing all that happens at the time.
Amazing book, would read it again and again.

About the author (2009)

Bernard Cornwell was born in London, England, on February 23, 1944, and came to the United States in 1980. He received a B.A. from the University of London in 1967. Cornwell served as producer of the British Broadcasting Corporation from 1969-1976. After this he was head of current affairs for BBC-TV in Belfast, Northern Ireland. In 1979 he became editor of television news for Thames Television of London. Since 1980 he has been a freelance writer. he lives with his wife on Cape Cod. Cornwell's Sharpe series, adventure stories about a British soldier set in the Peninsula War of 1808-1814, are built on the author's interest in the Duke of Wellington's army. Titles include Sharpe's Rifles, Sharpe's Revenge, Sharpe's Siege, Sharpe's Regiment, and Sharpe's Waterloo. The Last Kingdom series has ten books. Book ten, The Flame Bearer is on the bestsellers list. He has also written other works including Wildtrack, Killer's Wake, Sea Lord, Stormchild, Rebel, Copperhead, and Battle Flag. His title Death of Kings made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2012 and In 2014 his title The Pagan Lord made the list again.

Bibliographic information