Hard Women: A Cat Marsala Mystery

Front Cover
Charles Scribner's, 1993 - Fiction - 249 pages
0 Reviews
"NOBODY CARES MUCH ABOUT A DEAD HOOKER..." "Nobody but Chicago journalist Cat Marsala, who had befriended the frail young woman who now lies dead in a gutter near Cat's apartment." "Four days earlier, Cat had picked Sandra Love, as she liked to be called, out of a crowd of detainees at Women's Court. Cat had something Sandra wanted: a hot meal, in exchange for some information about life on Chicago's streets." "That's all Cat intended - a fair trade of food for facts that Cat could use in a television documentary. When Sandra later appears at Cat's door and asks to spend the night, Cat's not at all sure she wants a hooker for a guest. And when Sandra shows signs of settling in for an indefinite stay, the small apartment suddenly seems very crowded." "Sandra's murder tragically solves Cat's roommate problem, sending her on a quest for a killer and for a deeper understanding of the netherworld of Chicago prostitution, with its caste system in which the streetwalkers, the women in brothels, the escorts, and the by-recommendation-only independents live out their lives - and sometimes die." "In the tradition of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone, Barbara D'Amato's Cat Marsala combines courage and curiosity as she illuminates some of the most perplexing issues in today's headlines. The result is mystery entertainment of exceptional power from a greatly gifted author."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

HARD WOMEN

User Review  - Kirkus

In this fourth adventure—a letdown after last year's smartly worked-out Hard Luck—Chicago freelancer Cat Marsala is putting together a TV documentary on prostitution and, in the process, offering ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
4
Section 3
26
Copyright

20 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1993)

Barbara D'Amato is a playwright, novelist, and crime researcher. She was born in Michigan. D'Amato held jobs as a carpenter on magic shows, assistant surgical orderly, assistant to a wild animal act, stage manager, and legal researcher. She is a past president of Sisters in Crime International and serves on the board of the Mystery Writers of America. D'Amato wrote a children's musical, The Magic of Young Houdini, and two musical comedies for adults. She was nominated for the Anthony award for her novel On My Honor and was the runner-up for the Nero Wolfe Award for the novel Hard Women. The Doctor, The Murder, The Mystery won the Anthony and Agatha Awards for Best True Crime and was used as the basis for a segment on the TV show, Unsolved Mysteries.

Bibliographic information