Quartet in autumn

Front Cover
Dutton, 1978 - Fiction - 218 pages
28 Reviews
Four elderly, single co-workers, two men and two women who have only their work and each other to live for, are forced to deal with changes brought on by the women's retirement

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Quartet in Autumn

User Review  - Angie - Goodreads

Reading Barbara Pym is an interesting experience. She writes about little people with little lives but gives insight into their minds written in a quietly ironic and sensitive manner. This particular ... Read full review

Review: Quartet in Autumn

User Review  - Heather Shaw - Goodreads

I read Quartet in Autumn over the weekend. My, quite the bellwether book of publishing trends. No agent would touch it with a ten-foot pole these days. Quartet in Autumn is a book about aging ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

6 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1978)

Novelist Barbara Pym was born in Shropshire and educated at Oxford University. An editor of Africa, an anthropological review, for many years, she published her first novel, Some Tame Gazelle, in 1950. Since then, a number of popular works have been published. Often compared with the works of Jane Austen in both manner and subject, Pym's novels are apparently guileless evocations of the foibles of aging and isolated characters. She has a sure, if understated, sense of her characters' psychology and of their unintentionally comic revelations about themselves and their futile lives. After the publication of No Fond Return of Love (1961), all her books were out of print until she was cited, coincidentally by both David Cecil and Philip Larkin, as among the most underestimated novelists of the 20th century. She subsequently completed two successful novels, The Sweet Dove Died (1978) and Quartet in Autumn (1978), the latter a comic-pathetic study of two men and two women in their sixties who work in the same office but lead separate, lonely lives outside. Many of her earlier books have since been reprinted, including Excellent Women (1952) and A Glass of Blessings (1958), both perceptive psychological studies of aging women taken advantage of by others. A posthumous novel, A Few Green Leaves (1980), is a superb comedy of provincial village life.

Bibliographic information