Front Cover
Parthian, 2007 - Fiction - 268 pages
0 Reviews
Extremely controlled studies of constrained desire, loneliness, and incomplete relationships, these tales fostered Edwards' development of a nonrealist world of imagery and symbolism in her own language. The ten stories of Rhapsody, together with the three previously uncollected pieces added to this edition, are utterly distinctive in voice and sensibility. At least three of the Rhapsody stories—"A Country House," "Days," and the brilliant, enigmatic "A Garland of Earth"—are small masterpieces sure to by enjoyed by a whole new generation.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - startingover - LibraryThing

There's a real sense of desolation in the stories - people having social conversations but never really talking to each other. The stories are charming but with a tough core of loneliness. The theme ... Read full review


A Country House
The Conquered
Treachery in a Forest

9 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Dorothy Edwards is the author of numerous short stories and the novel Winter Sonata.

Bibliographic information