Children of the Mind

Front Cover
Macmillan, Nov 30, 2009 - Fiction - 352 pages
13 Reviews

The planet Lusitania is home to three sentient species: the Pequeninos; a large colony of humans; and the Hive Queen, brought there by Ender. But once against the human race has grown fearful; the Starways Congress has gathered a fleet to destroy Lusitania.

Jane, the evolved computer intelligence, can save the three sentient races of Lusitania. She has learned how to move ships outside the universe, and then instantly back to a different world, abolishing the light-speed limit. But it takes all the processing power available to her, and the Starways Congress is shutting down the Net, world by world.

Soon Jane will not be able to move the ships. Ender's children must save her if they are to save themselves.

Children of the Mind is the fourth book in Orson Scott Card's Ender Quintet.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A brilliant end to an amazing saga. I've itched with desire to delve into the entire series, wishing to do away with minor annoyances like "work" and "sleep." Children of the Mind is a truly deep and thought provoking novel. I shed tears of delight at the beautifully described details at the end of chapter 9 (so far one of my favorite scenes in all of literature) and I couldn't even properly mourn the end of the series because everything was just too perfectly rounded out. I've added the Ender series to the list of books I'll be re-reading throughout my life; a very short list indeed. 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Not as interesting as "enders game" but still a good read

All 5 reviews »


Im Not Myself
You Dont Believe in God
There Are Too Many of Us
I Am a Man of Perfect Simplicity
Nobody Is Rational
Life Is a Suicide Mission
I Offer Her This Poor Old Vessel
You Called Me Back from Darkness
Am I Betraying Ender?
Till Death Ends All Surprises
How They Communicate with Animals
Were Giving You a Second Chance
How Do You Know They Arent Quivering in Terror?
The Road Goes On without Him Now

What Matters Is Which Fiction You Believe
It Smells Like Life to Me
This Has Always Been Your Body
Tor Books by Orson Scott Card Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Orson Scott Card is best known for his science fiction novel Ender's Game and it's many sequels that expand the Ender Universe into the far future and the near past. Those books are organized into the Ender Quintet, the five books that chronicle the life of Ender Wiggin; the Shadow Series, that follows on the novel Ender's Shadow and are set on Earth; and the Formic Wars series, written with co-author Aaron Johnston, that tells of the terrible first contact between humans and the alien "Buggers".

Card has been a working writer since the 1970s. Beginning with dozens of plays and musical comedies produced in the 1960s and 70s, Card's first published fiction appeared in 1977 -- the short story "Gert Fram" in the July issue of The Ensign, and the novelet version of "Ender's Game" in the August issue of Analog.

The novel-length version of Ender's Game, published in 1984 and continuously in print since then, became the basis of the 2013 film, starring Asa Butterfield, Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley, Hailee Steinfeld, Viola Davis, and Abigail Breslin.

Card was born in Washington state, and grew up in California, Arizona, and Utah. He served a mission for the LDS Church in Brazil in the early 1970s. Besides his writing, he runs occasional writers' workshops and directs plays. He frequently teaches writing and literature courses at Southern Virginia University.

He is the author many sf and fantasy novels, including the American frontier fantasy series "The Tales of Alvin Maker" (beginning with Seventh Son), There are also stand-alone science fiction and fantasy novels like Pastwatch and Hart's Hope. He has collaborated with his daughter Emily Card on a manga series, Laddertop. He has also written contemporary thrillers like Empire and historical novels like the monumental Saints and the religious novels Sarah and Rachel and Leah. Card's recent work includes the Mithermages books (Lost Gate, Gate Thief), contemporary magical fantasy for readers both young and old.

Card lives in Greensboro, North Carolina, with his wife, Kristine Allen Card, He and Kristine are the parents of five children and several grandchildren.

Bibliographic information