Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White

Front Cover
Basic Books, 2002 - Social Science - 399 pages
7 Reviews
In the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and other public intellectuals who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, law professor, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the new century.Often provocative and always thoughtful, this book addresses some of the most controversial contemporary issues: discrimination, immigration, diversity, globalization, and the mixed-race movement, introducing the example of Asian Americans to shed new light on the current debates. Combining personal anecdotes, social-science research, legal cases, history, and original journalistic reporting, Wu discusses damaging Asian American stereotypes such as "the model minority" and "the perpetual foreigner." By offering new ways of thinking about race in American society, Wu's work challenges us to make good on our great democratic experiment.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bostonian71 - LibraryThing

Much too pedantic for my tastes, and much less convincing than I'd hoped (both for my sake and for other Asian-Americans). Wu clearly is invested in his topic, but often constructs his arguments with ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - - LibraryThing

A good introduction to Asian America. I will say however, that Frank H. Wu's background is in law, which definitely shows throughout the book. A particularly long list of stereotyped caricatures of ... Read full review


Asians as Americans
Success as a Race Relations Failure

2 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2002)

Frank H. Wu is a law professor at Howard University Law School.

Bibliographic information