Destroy All Cars

Front Cover
Scholastic Inc., Feb 1, 2011 - Juvenile Fiction - 218 pages
12 Reviews
From Blake Nelson, a fantastic and topical novel about idealism and finding the ideal girl.

James Hoff likes to rant against America's consumerist culture. He also likes to rant against his ex-girlfriend, Sadie, who he feels isn't doing enough to change the world. But just like he can't avoid buying things, he also can't avoid Sadie for long. This is a fantastic, funny, sexy, cool masterpiece from one of the best YA writers at work today, an anti-consumerist love story that's all about idealism, in both James's relationship with the world and his relationships with the people around him.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - satyridae - LibraryThing

Brilliant first half. I haven't read anything as funny or as truly 17-year-old boy in a long time, if ever. The protagonist's voice is 100% pure. The reproductions of James' essays are priceless. That ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - GirlsonFire - LibraryThing

Likes: Confessional feel of the story. Fully fleshed out narrator with evident flaws making it easier to relate with the story. Dislikes: Ending is too abrupt (even with appendixes). Readalikes: Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist, Recovery Road, The Perks of Being a Wallflower Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
9
Section 3
16
Section 4
23
Section 5
28
Section 6
33
Section 7
53
Section 8
68
Section 12
121
Section 13
127
Section 14
139
Section 15
153
Section 16
194
Section 17
201
Section 18
209
Section 19
211

Section 9
93
Section 10
105
Section 11
114
Section 20
214
Section 21
217
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Blake Nelson is the author of many acclaimed novels for teens, including Paranoid Park, Girl, The New Rules of high School, and Rock Star Superstar. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Bibliographic information